Life and It’s Lemons + Friends and Their Ships

A man brought me a message one day this past summer, and I haven’t been able to shake it from my mind ever since. He came in with a powerful presence, and the ability to just talk and talk. As a server, you meet all different personalities with unique accents in their character. This man had a stature that makes you notice him, I don’t know if it’s because he was just a round older man, or if it’s the huge personality he carried with himself. He automatically invited me in with a warm smile as soon as I greeted him, and continued with a lot to say. This man talked about his life, asked me questions about my studies, and all the small and curious questions you have when you first meet someone.

In the midst of speaking about my college majors and “life plan”, he then looked at me and recited this scripture: Matthew 7:17-20 “A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, nor can a bad tree bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Therefore by their fruits you will know them.”

*it doesn’t matter what religion/philosophy/theory you follow, the simple fact is this: if something is corrupt, it will sooner or later show itself.

It was then that this peculiar man told me — almost warned me — to be careful who I trust in life. “You are a good person. I know this. I can tell by just talking to you, it’s in your presence. Watch who you call a friend.” I am not trying to talk myself up, trust me, I was caught off-guard, it had me a little shocked that he would say something like this while knowing me for 10 minutes. I refuted, and was obliged by his politeness and his caution for me to be careful with who I get close to in life. He also told me that people will get close to me because of my looks or because I work hard, and use it to get ahead in life. These words haven’t left me yet. I’ve tossed this around in my head a lot; I know so many people who act for the greater good, but I also know a lot of people who don’t strike me as particularly genuine. Those are the people you must be cautious of. Listen to your gut, listen to how you feel and if something isn’t right about a person — something isn’t right about that person. It’s so so so crucial in this life to surround yourself with people who build you up and make you want to be a better person. Also note: if these bad trees are choosing to be against you and break you down, they ‘bear bad fruit’ (hang with me here) and don’t have a bone in their body to be worth your energy because you cannot make them produce the goodness that you can.

This isn’t saying that you have to kick people to the curb because you “just don’t like them” for a petty reason. People make mistakes. We are all imperfect souls. This is saying that if someone is toxic, leave them behind. If someone is constantly living against what you stand for, don’t stick around them. Be wary of your teachers. Be wary who you allow to influence you. & Be a trusting person, but be choosy with that trust.

That being said, I am happy with who I have chosen to be involved with. I have met some of the greatest people who really represent a good, genuine human being. Being away for three months isn’t the biggest deal, but I know that my connections with the people who I can truly count on will not fade. I have been incredibly blessed with “good trees” who have shown me how to forgive, how to be accountable, and how to help others in so many different ways. My mind is at ease knowing that the people who actually matter are the ones already by my side.

Keep producing good, you attract what you put out + at the same exact time, you become what you surround yourself with.

Shared by a friend: The Paradoxical Commandments by Dr. Kent M. Keith

People are illogical, unreasonable, and self-centered.
Love them anyway.

If you do good, people will accuse you of selfish ulterior motives.
Do good anyway.

If you are successful, you will win false friends and true enemies.
Succeed anyway.

The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow.
Do good anyway.

Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway.

The biggest men and women with the biggest ideas can be shot down by the smallest men and women with the smallest minds.
Think big anyway.

People favor underdogs but follow only top dogs.
Fight for a few underdogs anyway.

What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight.
Build anyway.

People really need help but may attack you if you do help them.
Help people anyway.

Give the world the best you have and you’ll get kicked in the teeth.
Give the world the best you have anyway.

Leave a comment